Order · Montenegro
Орден књаза Данила I
(opens the listing on LiveAuctioneers)
(opens the image page on Wikimedia Commons)Reference image
Reference image: JemikeCC BY-SA 3.0Wikimedia Commons

Ribbon image: MimichCC BY-SA 3.0Wikimedia Commons
Sold median$1,006
median of 52 recent sales, 127 in all · typically $522 – $2,971 · 3 for sale now
All classes, authentic single pieces, US dollars with buyer's premium; recent = dated sales of the last 10 years. Updated 2 Nov 2026.
The Order of Prince Danilo I (Montenegrin: Orden Knjaza Danila I; Cyrillic: Орден Књаза Данила I), founded as the Order of Merit for the Independence of Montenegro (Red zasluga za nezavisimost Crne Gore) and also known as the Order of Danilo I or the Order of Independence, is a Montenegrin order instituted at Cetinje on St George's Day, 23 April 1853 (O.S.; 5 May N.S.), by Prince Danilo I, the first secular ruler of Montenegro, following the successful defence of the country against the Ottoman Empire in the war of 1852–1853. It was the first order instituted by the Montenegrin state and remained its senior award for merit throughout the Principality (1852–1910) and the Kingdom of Montenegro (1910–1918). Its motto, За независимост Црне Горе ("For the Independence of Montenegro"), unites the founder's name with what its historian has called the basic credo of the Montenegrin national programme.
Following the fall of the monarchy in 1918, the Order has been maintained as a dynastic order of the Royal House of Montenegro.
From Wikipedia (article), under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Sold: realised prices with buyer's premium, median and middle 50%. Buy now: asking prices, kept separate.
Commander
Officer
Knight
Grand Cross
Class not stated
Grand Officer
| Class | Sold median | Typical range | Sales | Buy now |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commander | $1,185 | $576 – $1,269 | 11last 18 Jul 2026 | 2 listed · $1,250 – $1,600 |
| Officer | $456 | $357 – $546 | 8last 24 Aug 2023 | None listed |
| Knight | $589 | $387 – $666 | 7last 28 Sept 2026 | None listed |
| Grand Cross | $3,568 | $3,481 – $5,008 | 9last 18 Jul 2026 | 1 listed · $3,150 |
Photos and titles belong to the listing's source; each links to it.

eMedals
$1,250

| Class not stated |
|---|
| $719 |
| $519 – $1,828 |
| 12last 17 Oct 2025 |
| None listed |
| Grand Officer | $3,494 | $3,217 – $3,648 | 4last 4 Dec 2024 | None listed |
|---|
$618
Paterson Auctioneerssold
$2,500
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $3,125 paid
Paterson Auctioneerssold
$1,000
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $1,250 paid

LiveAuctioneerssold
$1,000
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $1,250 paid

LiveAuctioneerssold
$180
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $225 paid

live.jeffreysevans.com · live.jeffreysevans.comsold
$234
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $293 paid

$234
+ est. 25% premium ≈ $293 paid